2017 Municipal Election Results:

Mayor: Kim Craig is re-elected with 1149 votes over challenger Jack Van Rijn with 1090 votes.

Results for Town Council:


Bill Chapman (i) 1561 – Elected • Briane Simpson 1475- Elected • Jacen G. Abrey (i) 1430 – Elected • Henry (Butch) Pauls 1291- Elected • Roger Hohm (i) 1288 – Elected • Doreen Lloyd 1212- Elected • Douglas Page 1071

VLT vote: No 1113 over Yes 1100

A total of 2265 ballots out of 5780 eligible voters were cast in the 2017 Election for a 39 per cent voter turnout, up from 34 per cent in 2013.

In the Town of Coaldale, as in other municipalities in Alberta, local elections are held every four years.  Previously, elected officials held three year terms, however in 2012 terms of office for elected officials were extended to four years. This began with the 2013 Municipal Election.  Coaldale residents will vote this coming October 16, 2017 for a new municipal council. Voter ID requirements

Official candidates for 2017 election for Mayor:

Kim Craig and Jack Van Rijn

Nominees for Town Councillor include:

Jacen G. Abrey, Bill Chapman, Roger Hohm, Doreen Lloyd,

Douglas Page, Henry (Butch) Pauls and Briane Simpson.

Election Day, Monday, October 16 from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Community Centre.

In addition to voting for Mayor and Town Council, residents will also be casting their vote on Video Lottery Terminals in Coaldale. Voters will be asked: Do you agree that Town Council should pass a Bylaw to allow for the installation, operation and use of Video Lottery Terminals (VLTs) within the Town of Coaldale?

2017 Municipal Election: Advance Polls

September 30 from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

October 10 from 2 to 8 p.m.

October 12 from 2 to 8 p.m.

Accessible options for voters with disabilities who cannot negotiate a paper ballot are available during the advance voting dates including audio presentation, hand-held paddle device and a sip & puff device. Incapacitated voters, those unable to attend the voting station due to physical incapacity, may schedule a home visit by at least two deputies during any of the advance voting dates. Call 403-345-1306 for more information or to schedule a vote.

Nomination packages for the upcoming fall election

are now available at the Town Office.

Nomination Day will be Monday, September 18 from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.

at the Council Chambers in the Town Office at 1920-17 Street.

Individuals who file their notice of intent to become candidates are permitted to begin fundraising and receive donations for their campaign. This notice is in addition to the legislated requirements for a candidate to file nomination papers. Notice of Intent List

For information on election nomination and voting dates, including advance polls, voting options for those with disabilities and institutional voting please CLICK HERE.

The Society of Local Government Managers of Alberta, in partnership with Alberta Municipal Affairs are hosting a free session for individuals running for local office.  It will be held Monday, September 11, 2017 from 7 to 10 p.m. in the Lower Level of the Keg Restaurant in Lethbridge.  There is no cost.  To register, visit www.albertaleaders.ca.

You must register in order to attend the training.

Candidates interested in gaining a better understanding of the municipal government process are encouraged to attend a Town Council meeting. Upcoming Council meetings will be held on September 11 , September 25 and October 10, 2017, at 5:30 p.m. in Council Chambers at the Town of Coaldale office, 1920 – 17th Street, Coaldale.

Here, find results from the Town’s last two elections.

2013 Election Results


  • Kim Craig 1065 Votes
  • Henry (Butch) Pauls 785 votes

Councillors (6)

Note: (I) = Incumbent

Total eligible: 5,548

Voter turnout: 1,869 = 33.4%

2010 Election Results


Councillors (6)

Note: For election documents and guidelines, please visit the Bylaws and Policy section of this website.